March 25, 2009

before post

Posted in Apartment Hunt, new apartment tagged at 3:03 pm by Brit

As promised, here are pictures of the apartment I just signed a lease for. Keep in mind, they’re in the midst of some renovations, so the floor has been stripped and the walls still need to be painted…but, this is a terrific before shot to compare with what it will look like once I get my little decorating hands on it.

bedroom

bedroom

 
 
 
This is the bedroom…check out the loft bed! I’m going to have this room painted in Ralph Lauren’s Pale Grey (#UL13)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
built-in bookshelf

built-in bookshelf

 
 
 
This bookshelf hides a window, but no worries…no light comes in, when you look out you see nothing but a brick wall. Gotta love city life. This is going to be one of many DIY projects. I’d like to put up some type of backing between each shelf with a pretty design covering it. I will also have to take some hints from my friend Eddie Ross at starting some sort of collection.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
bathroom

bathroom

 
 
 
Obviously, this will be painted. I’m using Ralph Lauren’s Brilliant White (#ML01). I love white bathrooms, it sets the tone for my apothecary-inspired decor.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
bar/table

bar/table

I have a feeling this area is going to come in handy for entertaining…
kitchen

kitchen

Just your regular, makeshift apartment kitchen. Nothing fancy. I will paint the walls, though I’m still trying to decide what color. Maybe after I’ve lived there awhile, I can talk my landlord into letting me paint the cabinets a fresh white color, and just maybe take off the upper cabinet doors to have exposed shelving like this
living room

living room

Painting this room the same color as my last place…Ralph Lauren’s Embassy Purple (#TH59).
hallway

hallway

Okay, so not really a hallway per se…more like a door…but I am glad that my private spaces are set apart from my public spaces. I have every intention of finding a unique vintage doorknob at a flea market to jazz this doorway up a bit.
Okay, so that’s the “before” tour! What do you think? Any decorating suggestions?!
2 Comments »

  1. Jennifer said,

    the painted brick is pretty!

    and if you had a place to put them, maybe you could take some of the upper cabinet doors down and them put them back on when you leave? I’m about to take some of mine down and see how I like it! Wes doesn’t know about that — ha!

  2. […] decorating, furniture, inspiration tagged pallet daybeds at 4:15 pm by Brit I may have the complete opposite of these, but pallet daybeds make me […]


Leave a Reply

