June 30, 2009

playing interior designer

Posted in Apartment Project, decorating tagged at 12:59 pm by Brit

I may have a degree in interior design, but, having pursued the journalism aspect of it, the closest I’ve been to actually practicing it is for my own space. Until now that is…

A friend of mine has requested I help him design/decorate his new apartment. He just signed a lease for a fantastic space on the Upper West Side (it’s HUGE!) and has no clue what to do with it. He wants to totally start from scratch, getting rid of furniture he’s had since college (he’s in his mid-30s now). Ooo…Project!

I haven’t seen it in person yet, only floorplans, but it sounds amazing, complete with a dining/office space and a terrace. Going Friday morning to see it for myself.

Now, I may not be an official interior designer, but I know the drill. Here are the steps I plan on taking:

  1. Learn what he likes. I’m making him flip through shelter mags and make notes of what he does and does not find attractive. He says he’s “modern” (and at this, I silently laugh to myself). As most of us know, design is much more complex than simply being “traditional” or “modern,” so hopefully I can get some inspiration from what he pulls.
  2. Take his lifestyle into account. As a typical male, his priority list is much different than mine (i.e., comfort always reigns over aesthetics). Keeping that in mind, I have to create a design plan that suits his needs.
  3. Go through all his old furniture before he throws it out. Lots of people do not see the potential that old pieces can have with something as simple as a fresh coat of paint.
  4. Measure all the furniture we’re keeping and create a floorplan. Ah, so I will finally use the skills I learned from those countless hours in my college drafting classes!
  5. Budget. He wants everything new, new, new. But as you have seen even on this blog, you can find some great pieces at thrift shops and flea markets (no, I didn’t win the auction to that Housing Works piece). So, perhaps I can sway him into at least taking a peek on eBay or Craigslist.

Hopefully once we’ve conquered all these steps, we’ll have what we need to put the design together. Stay tuned!

2 Comments »

  1. Amy Flowers said,

    You will do a great Job no doubt. Have fun with it.

  2. Greer said,

    Would love to know how it went. I’m still studying design myself, so am always interested in hearing other designers’ approaches.


Leave a Reply

