July 15, 2009

country living wishful thinking

Posted in architecture tagged , at 2:18 pm by Brit

I’m in a funk. A New York funk. I love living in the city, but there’s just something about the summer that makes me wish I lived elsewhere. Maybe it’s because everyone and their mother flees from here no later than 3pm on Fridays while I’m left in the concrete jungle with Central Park being my only oasis.

Maybe one day, when I’m grown-up and am ready to do the family thing, I’ll move out of the city. But if I leave NYC, it’s back under the Mason Dixon line I go. IF I do (and that’s a BIG “if” Mother, don’t start getting excited) then I’d love to get a cute little fixer-upper, like this Folk Victorian home (correct me if I’m wrong on the style, I only had one college semester of exterior architecture):

a cute little home in Birmingham, AL

a charming little home in Birmingham, AL

Granted, I am finally leaving the city this weekend, so when I return, I’m sure the fog will have lifted and I will fall in love with New York all over again. But seriously, how cute is that house? 

5 Comments »

  1. allyson said,

    i would live there! and i wouldn’t normally be too keen on the color but somehow it just really works with this house.

  2. […] you know, I finally got out of the city this past weekend and headed to Fire Island (islands along Long Island, just east of the Hamptons), […]

  3. Jennifer said,

    that is super-cute … where is it?

    I’ve decided that the grass is just always greener on the other side. I love our house (and our life) in town (well, kind of in the ‘burbs), but I am constantly day dreaming about a quiet little piece of land someplace (preferably in TN!). It’s okay to dream, but I’m working on being content where I am!

    let’s give it about 10 (or so) years and have little farms next to each other 🙂 how cute would that be??

  4. […] you know, I finally got out of the city this past weekend and headed to Fire Island (islands along Long Island, just east of the Hamptons), […]

  5. Carolee said,

    This looks like a Folk Victorian, and a beautiful one! I own a Folk Victorian of the obscenely ugly variety. My dream is to wake up one day to find it has transformed into something this pretty. Right now, it’s half brown, half white and all ugly.


Leave a Reply

