August 5, 2009

my bff charm

Posted in life adventures tagged , at 3:10 pm by Brit

New York is full of ambitious 20-somethings trying to get that red high-heeled foot in the door. Some in search of money, some power, some passion, and some are in search for their soul. They’ve come from near and far, all drawn to NYC like a mosquito to a light.

Luckily, I have managed to find my place. I came here hoping to satisfy my passion for my industry, and have blessedly done so. But during my search, I have come to know some amazing people who have not only became my friends, but also my family.

While our little family has grown to a fair number of tight-knit folks, there are three girls in particular whose friendships I cherish more than words can describe. We all have that beautiful, cliche’ story to tell of how we came to New York, though, somewhere along the way, we found each other.

To honor this life-altering bond, we have decided to all get tattoos. This is the image we picked out, courtesy of Dragon Artz:

Vector - Skyline US NewYork by DragonArt.jpg2

An image of the New York skyline, appropriate eh? We’ll more than likely just get the skyline and bottom design, sans the blue background. Even though the locations of choice are different (I’m getting mine on the back of my neck), they will all be of the same image…a permanent BFF charm, if you will.

I know this doesn’t have anything to do with decorating, cooking, or gardening, but I like to add in my little personal adventures every once in awhile.

So tell me what you think of the design (don’t be too harsh, it is permanent!)! 🙂

With that being said, I’d like to leave you with an excerpt from one of my favorite poems:

There are roughly three New Yorks. There is, first, the New York of the man or woman who was born there, who takes the city for granted and accepts its size, its turbulence as natural and inevitable. Second, there is the New York of the commuter–the city that is devoured by locusts each day and spat out each night. Third, there is New York of the person who was born somewhere else and came to New York in quest of something. Of these trembling cities the greatest is the last–the city of final destination, the city that is a goal. It is this third city that accounts for New York’s high strung disposition, its poetical deportment, its dedication to the arts, and its incomparable achievements. Commuters give the city its tidal restlessness, natives give it solidity and continuity, but the settlers give it passion. And whether it is a farmer arriving from a small town in Mississippi to escape the indignity of being observed by her neighbors, or a boy arriving from the Corn Belt with a manuscript in his suitcase and a pain in his heart, it makes no difference: each embraces New York with the intense excitement of first love, each absorbs New York with the fresh yes of an adventurer, each generates heat and light to dwarf the Consolidated Edison Company. .

–Here is New York by E.B. White

1 Comment »

  1. allyson said,

    i love it! i think the idea is very sweet and awesome. and i loved the poem too. kinda makes me want to move there! but, alas, i’m still a cali girl at heart. can’t even deal with anything below 70 degrees.


Leave a Reply

