February 9, 2010

recipe experiment: fancy pigs-in-the-blanket

Posted in party foods, Weekly Recipe Experiment tagged at 6:06 pm by Brit

I hosted Superbowl Sunday at my apartment this past weekend. Going against my friends’ advice to just order pizza (how dare they suggest that!), I donned my apron over my football jersey and practiced my Martha Stewart skills by making a bunch of homemade finger foods, one of them being a fancy twist to the traditional pigs-in-the-blanket.

What you need:

Puff pastry

Sausage or frankfurters preferably in some sort of flavor (I used organic apple and Gouda sausage)

Your favorite cheese (I used Havarti)

Dijon mustard

Roll out puff pastry. Cut dough into rectangles that are long and wide enough to wrap around an entire sausage/frank. Spread a think layer of Dijon mustard on each rectangle. Sprinkle with cheese. Roll dough around sausage and seal seam by pressing dough together. Cut franks crosswise into thirds and arrange on greased baking sheet. Bake in oven on greased baking sheet at 375 for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Sorry I don’t have a picture…my guests attacked them before I could get my camera out.

Rating: 4 out of 5 spoons

4-spoons1

1 Comment »

  1. […] another recipe from Superbowl Sunday. No football-watching is complete without a veggie tray and obviously a pre-bought one would […]


Leave a Reply

